Gössenheim (about 7 km)

You will find one of the largest castle ruins in Germany “just around the corner” – the Homburg ob der Wern. Visible from afar, it towers over Gössenheim and the Werntal. Enjoy an indescribable view from the vantage point or look over the thick stone walls down into the valley.

The castle ruin is still so well preserved, that the basement, rooms and division of the stables in the outer bailey by the wall remains are visible.

The castle was built by the Hohenbergern, a Frankish knightly race.

The environment of the castle was designated a nature reserve and is home to very rare animals and plants. On designated trails you can explore nature here.

Right next door, you can stop off at “Schoppenfranz” for a meal or a glass of wine – a popular excursion destination for hikers and mountain bikers.

Do you fancy a slightly different tour through the old walls? We have the builder of the castle, Knight Dietrich and his wife, rise from the dead for you.

In an entertaining and funny way, the two lead you through their castle, bringing the Middle Ages to life. You dive into the lifeworld of times past and learn a lot of interesting things without raising your finger or listening to a school lecture. In between, the monk “Eloquentius” comes across you, or you listen to the minstel, who still languishes after his damsel Kunigunde.  

 

How did they live in such a castle? During this tour, the walls are filled with life and you will not see any more bare stones and dark cellars, but the places where “Drinking” and “Music” took place! Ask us for the details.

In Gössenheim, the Weinschänke Hack is famous for its wine festival with wines that grow on the slopes of the Setzberg below the Homburg.

Gössenheim (ca. 7 km)

Eine der größten Burgruinen Deutschlands finden Sie gleich bei uns „um die Ecke“ – die Homburg ob der Wern. Weithin sichtbar thront sie über Gössenheim und dem Werntal. Genießen Sie einen unbeschreiblichen Ausblick vom Aussichtspunkt oder schauen Sie über die dicken Steinmauern hinunter ins Tal.

Die Burgruine ist noch so gut erhalten, dass Keller, Gemächer und Aufteilung der Ställe in der Vorburg durch Mauerreste sichtbar werden.

Die Burg wurde von den Hohenbergern erbaut, einem fränkischen Rittergeschlecht.

Das Umfeld der Burganlage wurde zum Naturschutzgebiet ernannt und beheimatet sehr seltene Tiere und Pflanzen. Auf ausgewiesenen Wanderwegen können Sie hier die Natur erkunden.

Gleich nebenan können Sie beim „Schoppenfranz“ zum Essen oder einem Schoppen Wein einkehren – einem beliebten Ausflugsziel für Wanderer und Mountainbiker.

Haben Sie Lust auf eine etwas andere Führung durch die alten Gemäuer? Wir lassen den Erbauer der Burg, Ritter Dietrich und seine Gemahlin, für Sie auferstehen.

Auf unterhaltsame und lustige Art führen die beiden durch ihre Burg und lassen dabei das Mittelalter lebendig werden. Sie tauchen ein in die Lebenswelt vergangener Zeiten und erfahren viel Interessantes ohne erhobenen Zeigefinger und Schulmeisterei. Zwischendurch läuft Ihnen der Mönch “Eloquentius” über den Weg, oder Sie lauschen dem Minnesänger, der immer noch nach seiner Kunigunde schmachtet.

 

Wie lebte es sich auf so einer Burg? Bei dieser Führung werden die Mauern mit Leben erfüllt und Sie sehen danach nicht mehr kahle Steine und dunkle Keller, sondern die Orte, wo “Saufgelag’ und Saitenspiel” stattfand! Fragen Sie uns nach den Einzelheiten.

In Gössenheim ist die Winzerstube Hack berühmt für ihr Weinfest mit Weinen, die an den Hängen des Setzberges unterhalb der Homburg wachsen.